The waiting game.

Lately time seems to be going by in slow motion all while flying by me at the speed of light. I know it is because I am so eager to see this little one that part of me wants this 9 months to happen in the blink of an eye so I can meet them and hold them. The other part of me wants the time to take forever because I am enjoying every second of it so much.

Now I know why they say pregnant woman glow, how could you not? How could you not adore every second, yes even the less appealing symptoms that come along with pregnancy. Whenever I could feel down or upset I look down and that little bump reminds me what happiness is truly about.

It seems like yesterday that Kevin and I decided it was mommy and daddy time and shortly after saw those two pink lines and now I am in full bump mode checking each milestone off my “What to Expect When You Are Expecting” checklist. I know it will just be a matter of time before I can’t see my toes or our empty nursery will not only be painted and filled with books, toys and baby items galore but with a baby too.

It is so surreal and something I never gave much thought to. I have always wanted to be a mom. When they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up in school I always said a mom (besides that time in kindergarten when I said I wanted to be a tug boat). I pictured holding my baby, finger painting, teaching them how to ride a bike and packing their lunches for school but I never imagined how it would feel to actually be pregnant. Honestly it is overwhelming, in a good way. There are no words to describe this love or experience. It is like trying to explain that feeling on Christmas morning waiting anxiously with excitement for your parents to wake up so you can see what Santa brought. All I can say is that it is truly amazing.

So while I hold my breath waiting for the official boy or girl call and count the days till we can hold them I will remember that this time is like a present on Christmas morning, one of the very best parts is the waiting.

2 thoughts on “The waiting game.

  1. Beautifully said… and now you just begin to understand how much I love you! Your next magical moment is just around the corner, when you can feel your little one, moving and kicking inside you….. 🙂

  2. Dominique – I love your perspective.

    Despite sometimes being tired, stressed, and coughing…you are able to see a bigger, more wonderful picture. This baby is lucky to have you as a mom…and as his/her tugboat (a small powerful boat pulling along another boat)!

    I love this quote from Marianne Williamson: Joy is what happens to us when we allow ourselves to recognize how good things really are. You are finding joy in the waiting, and that is really wonderful.

    Happy Halloween! Lots of Love…Grandma Teall

Leave a Reply

