Thanks.

With cooking for two days straight and having my kitchen at points look like it was the aftermath of an iron chef cook off, I am thankful to just not be cooking. That and the fact that the only “cooking” I have done in two days is put turkey on bread and gluttonously enjoy it (leftovers are the best part of thanksgiving after all).
Above that I am so thankful for my family. This year especially. At points in the past 6 months I have felt like our family is in some awful spin off of the movie final destination with two car accidents with in two weeks of each other almost shattering my brothers lives. I don’t want to dwell or even think about everything we have been through this past year, what I do want to think about is how lucky we were that we all were sitting together eating Thanksgiving dinner together.
There was a moment where my brothers and husband were having a zombie killing completion on the Xbox and taking turns with who got to sleep on the couch and my mom and dad were sitting by the tree laughing about what off the wall remark one of them said that I got a little kick, literally. I felt the baby kick and it made me step back and really absorb how lucky I am and how much I had to be thankful for.
So my thanks to my family:
Zack: Thank you for being you. Thank you for going after your dream and actually doing it. Thanks for having the courage to get through this past year you are better off now than you were this time last year. I am thankful that your heart is able to love again and to know it is worth being loved.
Spencer: Thank you for surviving. I couldn’t go through life without you. You mean the world to me and I am so very thankful that you are healing and that you were sitting at our thanksgiving dinner. I am thankful that you can still be a photographer, paint draw and play the piano, because you truly have a gift. I am thankful that you have the wisdom to see the positive in that awful night and it has made you a stronger better person.
Brian: I am thankful that you are my dad. I couldn’t wish for a better dad. In fact I am thankful that you took on the challenge of being all our dads, we are an odd bunch. You didn’t have to be our dad but you took us on like your own and you couldn’t be more of a dad to us. Thank you for being our rock and being not only a dad but a best friend you will never know how much you mean to us.
Mom: I am so thankful for you. I am thankful that you are going to be this babies grandma and that you have been such an amazing mother to me. Thank you for all the late night talks, all of your hugs and all of your advice. I am so thankful to be able to share this amazing time in my life with you and that you always seem to have all of the answers.
The Teall family: I am so thankful for all of you. This year it seems like you guys have been like a guardian angel to us. Near or far you have been there for us and share in this exciting time in our lives! I can’t wait till our little one can meet his aunt and grandma and grandpa for the first time.
Kevin: I am thankful for you, my best friend. Thank you for this baby, thank you for waking up with me at 5 in the morning (and staying up) and pretending to be happy about it. Thank you for working so hard. Thank you for the early morning and late night store runs. Thank you for rubbing my feet every day. Thank you for kissing me goodnight and thank you for being the first thing I see every day. Thank you for reading the baby books. Thank you for getting my vitamin everyday. Thank you for already being the best dad in the world. Thank you for kissing my belly. Thank you for loving me. I am so proud of you.
Baby: I am so thankful for you and I don’t even know you yet. Above all the thanks I have for you, I am so thankful that I am lucky enough to be your mother. I can’t wait to meet you.
There is so much to be thankful for in my life and so much more than is on this list. It just helps to remember when I am having a bad day at work or our house surprises us with another problem that it all really doesn’t matter because the good so out weighs any bad.

One thought on “Thanks.

Leave a Reply

