month 2

Dear Noah,

This month has been so tremendous, I don’t even know where to begin. You’ve grown so much in the past few weeks that I struggle every day not to become one of those parents who talks incessantly about their children. Then other times I say screw it. You’re totally brag worthy.

Everyone told me I wouldn’t know how much I would love you until you were born and they were right. What I didn’t know is every single day I would feel that feeling a million times over.

You are wonderful. People keeping saying that you are going to grow up to be a heart breaker (hello, look at your daddy) but I think you already are. You have me wrapped around your little finger. No matter what I am doing all you have to do is shoot me one of your gummy grin and I am all yours.

This month you figured out you like sleep almost as much as mommy and daddy do (thank God!). At 9 pm it is lights out for you little guy – by your choosing! If mommy and daddy keep you up past then you are sure to pitch a fit! At 9 pm you are usually a drooling, little ball of sleep love. Daddy picks you up from where ever you clocked out at, off the boob, off your play mat, out of the swing or out of your beloved boppy and takes you to your basinet. Every time I fear that this transition will wake you – but no. Your arms and legs hang limp with your mouth gaping open all the way to your bed. You love your sleep, we cherish this about you. You wake up once or twice to briefly feed and then nod back off. I will cherish every night of this because I am sure you won’t be so narcoleptic when you start teething!

You and daddy have your special time when you wake up for your first breakfast at 5am. When you wake up you are ready to go, you want to eat, play, laugh, babble and cuddle and your daddy eats it up. He says there isn’t a better way to start the day and that you are better than coffee…coming from daddy that is a big deal – your dad runs off coffee. There isn’t anything better than watching the two of you together, you are already best friends.

kevin and noah...and their favorite past time

Since you sleep so wonderfully at night you are very awake during the day! One of your favorite past times is music. Every time I sing to you smile and you sing along in baby talk. Your favorite song is, “You are My Sunshine.” I sang it to you while you were in my belly and the first time I sang it to you after you were born your face lit up.  It is really hard to get anything done when you are so cute, I could spend all day jamming out with you (sometimes I do!).

This month you have embraced your fur-siblings. They love you (a little too much sometimes). The feeling is starting to be mutual. I think. You could be in love with them or you could be laughing at their flat weird little faces or the fact that all the want to do is lick your feet. Either way when they come to check you out you think it is hilarious. They like to take your afternoon nap with you and try very hard not to steal all of your toys. You are especially fond of Humphrey and he is especially fond of you. Any time you cry he runs over to lick you and if he had it his way he would sleep in your bassinet with you.

cuddle bug and cuddle pug

Now that you and I have our bearings from getting you in this world, you are my little work out buddy. Every day we wake up, you eat breakfast and we hit the road. You love our walks. You stare at the trees and love the sunshine. I love our walks but I wish I enjoyed them as much as you do! It has been a horribly hot summer and while you are chilling out in your shaded stroller with your little fan I am sweating my butt off…but that’s the whole point right?

Your personality is coming out more and more every day. You are such an easy baby. You are loveable, always smiling, talking and love your sleep! Your dad and I thought this whole baby thing was going to be a lot harder than it has been. Thanks for being so awesome!

I want you to grow up so fast. I want to take you to the park behind our house. I want to watch your dad teach you how to play basketball. I want to know what you are thinking. But at the same time I want to freeze you. I want you to stay this small forever. You already are so big to me. When I am scrolling through pictures of you, you don’t look anything like the little newborn in those pictures. It almost breaks my heart. You are already growing up so fast. I know that the only thing I can do is soak up every second along the way and treasure every moment.

Our world is such a better place with you in it. Now that you are here I feel like I am who I am supposed to be.

Sitting here thinking about how amazing this past month has been with you asleep on my shoulder trying to write this letter to you one handed, I want to remember this moment forever. Your face is smooshed in my neck and your little fingers are tracing my skin. I can’t believe you won’t be this small forever. I want you to know that even though I won’t be able to hold you on my shoulder forever – just know you will always have them to lean on.

You are my sunshine and always will be little one.

Love,

Mommy


<a href=”"Vote “>

3 thoughts on “month 2

  1. Your words explain, simply … how I felt when you were born.. and yes you do fall in love even more with each day… and that is how much I love you.
    When you sang to Noah the other day, it meant so much to me, to hear you sing again… to remember singing to you..(and you singing back) when you were just 2 months.. I love how his face lights up every time you sing! I love that picture of Kevin and Noah… so much love in one little photo =)
    I love how Humphrey and Noah have become buddies, and Maggie at least calmed down some lol….I love being Mom, and Madre and oh how I love being Grandma <3<3<3

  2. Dominique,
    This is the most beautiful post, and I cannot tell you how many times that I have read it – your gratitude for everything is so sweet and you create such a beautiful picture of life as a new mom. The video of you singing to Noah the same song that I sang to Kevin brings tears to my eyes every time I watch it – and I have watched it so much that I should just have created a loop and let it run continuosly. My hope for you is that you will one day watch your daughter-in-law sing to your new grandson the same songs that you now sing to Noah. I cannot express just how special this is – thanks for sharing. You and Kevin and Noah are so wonderful – love u!

Leave a Reply

