month 3

Dear Noah,

I can’t believe you are already three months old but in the same breath I can’t believe you have only been here three months. While out on our family walk the other day your dad put it perfectly, “I feel like we didn’t exsist before him.” And I couldn’t agree more.

love of our lives

You are such an easy baby. You sleep well. You eat well. You love to love. If you cry you are easily soothed. I keep waiting for you to use your baby powers to push your dad and I to the brink of sanity but it hasn’t happened. Not that I am complaining!

a-dor-a-ble

We love your blooming personality. The way you nuzzle into us when you are about to fall asleep. The way you babble early in the mornings. The way you give me a big, wide, open mouthed smiles when I talk to you about nothing and everything. Perfection does exist; I know it because of these moments.

i love this face

The other night I heard you stirring in your bassinet. I got up and looked down at you. You weren’t quite awake. You were chewing on your little fist and squirming. I helped you find your binky and you sleepily latched on. I lifted you from your bassinet and kissed your forehead breathing you in and held you tight. Your eyes went wide and then closed again with a small smile brushing across your lips. As if to say, ‘I’m not sure where you came from, Mommy, but I’m glad you’re here.”

I walked into your nursery and I rocked back and forth with you humming lullabies, you pulled your head from my shoulder with such ease and looked at me with your daddy’s eyes. You aren’t our little bobble head any more.

“When did that happen,” I wondered.

Lifting that big head of his

I laid you across my lap and you stretch across arm to arm of the chair. You are over 25 inches long…over two feet.

‘When did that happen?’

I kissed your nose and you burst out in your wonderful laugh. Your laugh is the best noise I have ever heard next to hearing you cry when you were born. I look at you, the moonlight illuminating your beautiful smile and I tell you I love you (for the zillionth time) and you crinkle your nose and close your eyes and laugh. Every time I hear one of your laughs, the kind that only a baby can make, I have to stop and ask myself,

‘When did that happen?’

When did my newborn turn into a baby? This little baby with such a personality. This little person. Someone who has likes and dislikes, even a sense of humor. If I could pause time and hold you right here, in this exact moment of time with your personality just emerging before us, I would.

But since I can’t freeze time I will absorb these moments and look forward to what you have in store for me every day for the rest of my life.

I will treasure (even more) when daddy brings you back to bed to cuddle with me in the morning when he leaves for work and you lay looking at me your fingers tangled in my hair and slowly wake up.

I will adore every new thing you discover, whether I understand it or not. This month your favorite thing is the curtain rod in the living room. Not all of our curtain rods catch your eye. Nope, just that one. You could stare at it all day long. You laugh at it. You talk to it. You reach for it. You guys are practically BFF’s. Weird…yes. Adorable…YES.

Looking at the love of his life...the curtian rod.

Again, I can't take credit for his smile. He is just cheesin' with the curtian rod.

The curtian rod in all of it's glory.

I will keep loving and appreciating all that you have given me. You have given your dad and I so much. You have shown us what it really means to love. You have made our marriage even better than it was before because now we aren’t just Mr. and Mrs. we are mommy and daddy.

Oh, my little big guy I love you more than words can say.

Happy 3 months love.

Love,

Mommy

4 thoughts on “month 3

  1. Dominique,
    What a beautiful post! It’s obvious how much you love your little big guy! And the “Noah and the curtain rod” pics are just toooo cute!
    Thanks for sharing all the love – brings tears to me eyes reading it as I remember what it was like to be a new mom, too. 😉

  2. Your words explain how I felt so many years ago when you were just 3 months old and it was me kissing your nose and you bursting into giggles. I read this and it brought tears to my eyes, its amazing how fast Noah is growing… how much he has changed. I wish we understood the curtain rod thing… he sure does love it lol. But the best part of this post is the video.. Noah showing off and hearing Kevin and you.. so in love with your little big guy … Happy 3 months Noah <3<3<3

Leave a Reply

