i don’t want my MTV.

It appears that at the ripe old age of 25 that I am too old for MTV. Man…I thought I would at least make it till Noah was in middle school to be “behind the times”.

Last night Kevin and I were a little under the weather and sat down to veg out and watch some mindless tv. Our mindless options: Keeping Up With the Kardashians or the MTV VMA’s. Although I am (unfortunately) a self proclaimed Kardashian addict we flipped to the VMA’s because E! is 90% Kardashian, you can flip to E! at almost any given time and get your Kardashian fix. That being said we tuned into MTV right in the middle of Lady  Mr. Gaga’s performance. Her manly make over sex change didn’t really shock me. I get it, Lady Gaga is weird. What shocked me was how apparently out of touch I am with this generation.

People wearing cubes on their heads? Blinged out leg cast? WTH?

if this is cool...i'm ok with being lame

Kevin and I never jumped on the bandwagon to the Jersey Shore and I can’t watch Teen Mom, I have a visceral reaction to it so we hadn’t watched MTV for years.

poor pug

Once we started watching it we couldn’t stop. I am not sure if it was because we thought it was going to get better or if we thought that at some point it would start to make sense. I am pretty sure we stayed tuned in because Lil Wayne was preforming at the end of the show and as embarrassed as I am to admit this my husband is semi obsessed with him. Watching the VMA’s was an act of selflessness and love on my part (that’s my story and I am sticking to it).

The show was a train wreck. Between the uncomfortable cut aways and awkward acceptance speeches (I thought Kanye West was going to reach a new level of crazy on Katy Perry when her acceptance speech for best duet spiraled out of control but he kept it classy). Maybe it was because the only songs I recognized were by Adele or were featured in the 90’s song montage fot Briteny Spears welcome-back-from-your-mid-mid-life-crisis award.

The only good thing, besides Adele was Beyonce’s ADORABLE pregnancy announcement. Best announcement e-v-e-r.

So not only did watching the VMA’s make me feel old and out of touch but it ruined my guilty pleasure tv and skinny cow time. Not cool.

After thinking about it maybe I got it wrong…maybe we aren’t the lame ones maybe it is MTV.

Please click to move LoveLife&Pugs to the top! One click = A vote!

2 thoughts on “i don’t want my MTV.

  1. I’m totally with you. The internet has made it so easy to just hunt down the highlights and just skip all of the god-awful crap. It’s not you; it’s MTV. You can date your next channel without any guilt now 🙂

  2. I’m right there with you…my hubby & I tuned in for 20.3 seconds. It was enough time to see Kanye & Jay-Z walk out under fireworks…naturally. Is it wrong that I wanted the entire stage to catch on fire and burn to the ground? Without anyone getting hurt, obviously. I totally missed the cube on Katie Perry’s head, so thanks for sharing that. : )

Leave a Reply

