the best thing i ever ate.

This weekend thanks to the unofficial start to summer brought on by Memorial Day we were sitting on a bunch of strawberries.

You know summer is here when strawberries are a buck a pint at the farmers market!

We ate them on everything and anything.

Tonight down to our last two pints I wanted to try something new.

While at the grocery store I spotted rhubarb in all it’s pretty pink glory.

While I thought it was so summery and cute with it’s bright pink color Kevin was convinced it was pink celery and made his feelings known that if I were to add that ‘stuff’ to the strawberries they would be ruined.

Challenge accepted (and won!).

I thought about making a pie or cobbler but decided on a crisp. In my opinion a crisp is not only the easiest and cheapest out of the three but the yummiest.

I whipped up a basic crisp recipe along with the rhubarb and strawberry filling before dinner and let it cook while we ate.

This ended up being the absolute best thing I have ever ate or made (and the easiest!).

Here is the recipe that will ruin all future desserts for you:

Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 5 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 2 pints sliced strawberries
  • 4 long stalks of diced rhubarb
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup rolled oats

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl, mix white sugar, 5 tablespoons flour, strawberries, and rhubarb. Place the mixture in a 9×13 inch baking dish.
  3. Mix 1 1/2 cups flour, brown sugar, butter, and oats until crumbly. You may want to use a pastry blender for this. Crumble on top of the rhubarb and strawberry mixture.
  4. Bake 45 minutes in the preheated oven, or until crisp and lightly browned.

Kevin and I had to check on it throughout dinner to make sure it wasn’t burning (since this was the first time baking it) and each time we opened the oven the house smelled like fresh strawberry jam. Just an added benefit from this amazing dessert.

We served it warm with vanilla ice cream.

It was good….

Like don’t talk to me while I eat this, don’t judge how many servings I eat, finish the entire thing, eat until you think you might die good.

This recipe has made me (and Kevin) a rhubarb lover.

Trust me.

It is so good that the next time I see family I will be bringing this in tow…it is like love in a baking dish.

If I could eat one thing forever it would be this.

If you do anything this summer you should make this dessert.

One thought on “the best thing i ever ate.

  1. My great grandma is a pie making genius and strawberry rhubarb is always my first choice 🙂 Thanks for the recipe!!!

Leave a Reply

