Wake me up when September ends.

Days like today are hard.

Days when I can think back over the last 25 years and remember each September 4th.

The reason it is hard is because this one you won’t be here. You won’t be here for your birthday..

Can we just go back?

Can we got back to being me at age 2 and you new born? My real live baby doll?

Can we go back to being 4 and 2, you were my tag along, my best friend.

Can we go back to 6 and 4, when my biggest worry was what you would do all day while I was in school?

Can we go back to 8 and 6, when we would ride the school bus together and talk about our day on the ride home? I loved walking from my last class to pick you up and sharing our day together, it was the best part of my day.

Can we go back to 10 and 8, when we rocked out to Hanson and Spice Girls? And we had out own band…

Can we go back to 12 and 10, when our worlds turned upside down but at least we had each other?

Can we go back to 14 and 12 and 16 and 14 and have less teenage bickering? I think mom and dad would appreciate that too.

Can we go back to 18 and 16 and have lunch again at our table…I looked forward to it every day.

Can we go back to 20 and 18 and dance with you again at my wedding? Just a little longer…savor that moment a little more.

Can we go back to 22 and 20 and can I listen to you play guitar again? You had such talent.

Can we go back to 24 and 22 and have you hold Noah for the first time longer….he loved you so.

Can we go back to 26 and 24 and not let life get between us like it did…we both needed each other so bad.

Can there please be more? Can’t we do 28 and and 26…

27 and 24 can’t be it…

Can we go back and hug more..

Can we go back so I can tell you I love you more…

Can we go back so I could some how undo all of this?

Can we just go back..to any day that had you in it?

Leave a Reply

